Anti Ragging Cell

What is Ragging?

“Ragging” means the doing of any act which causes, or is likely to cause any physical,psychological or physiological harm, apprehension, shame or embarrassment to a student, and includes

      1. any conduct by any student or students whether by words spoken or written or by an act which has the effect of teasing, treating or handling with rudeness a fresher or any other student;
      2. indulging in rowdy or undisciplined activities by any student or students which causes or is likely to cause annoyance, hardship, physical or psychological harm or to raise fear or apprehension thereof in any fresher or any other student;
      3. asking any student to do any act which such student will not in the ordinary course do and which has the effect of causing or generating a sense of shame, or torment or embarrassment so as to adversely affect the physique or psyche of such fresher or any other student;
      4. any act by a senior student that prevents, disrupts or disturbs the regular academic activity of any other student or a fresher;
      5. exploiting the services of a fresher or any other student for completing the academic tasks assigned to an individual or a group of students.
      6. any act of financial extortion or forceful expenditure burden put on a fresher or any other student by students;
      7. any act of physical abuse including all variants of it: sexual abuse, homosexual assaults, stripping, forcing obscene and lewd acts, gestures, causing bodily harm or any other danger to health or person;
      8. any act or abuse by spoken words, emails, posts, public insults which would also include deriving perverted pleasure, vicarious or sadistic thrill from actively or passively participating in the discomfiture to fresher or any other student;
      9. any act that affects the mental health and self-confidence of a fresher or any other student with or without an intent to derive a sadistic pleasure or showing off power, authority or superiority by a student over any fresher or any other student.

Members of Anti Ragging Committee

Anti Ragging Committe Members
Sr.no Name Designation Department School Ext.no Contact No. Mail-ID
1 Dr. T. R. Desai Chairperson, Pro-Vost RKU RKU 103 vc@rku.ac.in
2 Dr.  Nirav Bhatt Vice Chairperson , Asso.Prof MCA School of Engineering 141 9723455919 nirav.bhatt@rku.ac.in
3 Dr. Alpesh Nasit OSD, Asso. Prof. School of Management School of Management 804 9427254113 alpesh.nasit@rku.ac.in
4 Dr. Chetan Patel Member, Asso. Prof Mechanical School of Engineering 106 9879002288 chetan.patel@rku.ac.in
5 Prof. Ghanshyam Tejani Member,Asso.Prof Mechanical School of Engineering 119 9824899801 ghanshyam.tejani@rku.ac.in
6 Prof. Bhavesh Akbari Member,Asst.Prof CE School of Engineering 141 9925350060 bhavesh.akbari@rku.ac.in
7 Prof. Sohil Hamid Member,Lecturer EC School of Diploma Studies 406 9824865856 sohil.hamid@rku.ac.in
8 Dr. Shweta Rakholiya Member, Asst. Prof School of Physiotherpy School of Physiotherpy 214 9724779333 shweta.rakholiya@rku.ac.in
9 Prof. Anjali Trivedi Member, Lecturer School of Science School of Science 304 9429728747 anjali.trivedi@rku.ac.in
10 Prof. Vijay Togadiya Member, Lecturer School of Science School of Science 514 9726930081 vijay.togadiya@rku.ac.in
11 Dr. Pankaj Kapupara Member, Asst. Prof School of Pharmacy School of Pharmacy 506 9879422812 pankaj.kapupara@rku.ac.in
12 Prof. Radhika Senjaliya Member, Asst. Prof EC School of Engineering 164 9898210256 radhika.senjaliya@rku.ac.in
13 Mr. Chandresh Akbari Member RKU RKU 614 9824213407 chandresh.akbari@rku.ac.in
14 Mr. Darshit Bhatti Non-Teaching EC School of Diploma Studies 414 8141721372 darshit.bhatti@rku.ac.in
15 Joshi Parth 3rd Sem BCA Faculty of Technology 9428932503 pjoshi959@rku.ac.in
16 Bhati Ravirajsinh 5th Sem IT School of Engineering 9537205439 ravirajsinh.bhati@rku.ac.in
17 Dabhi Darshana 5th Sem BPT School of Physiotherpy  
18 Nagvadiya Kuldeep 7th Sem BPT School of Physiotherpy 8758548544 knagvadiya065@rku.ac.in
19 Amit Bhadani 5th Sem BSC School of Science 7575868776 amitbhadani206@ymail.com
20 Nakum Sandip 3rd Sem MSC School of Science 7622092533 snakum443@rku.ac.in
21 Rola Kaushal 3rd Sem CE School of Diploma Studies 7405252436 kaushalrola@gmail.com
22 Gunvantbhai Delawala NGO 9824040889 gunvantbhaidelawala@yahoo.com
23 Police Inspector Incharge – Aji Dam Aji Dam Police Station 0281-2474596
24 Representative Civil Services Awaiting
25 Mr. Pravinbhai K. Dave Parents 9429046050  
26 Mr. Axay Joshi Media Representative 9825858508

Functions

  • To hold orientation programmes for students.
  • To hold joint sensitization programme and counseling of both freshers and senior by a professional counselor.
  • To hold joint orientation programmes of freshers and seniors to be addressed by the Principal/Head of Institution and the Anti Ragging Committee.
  • Send periodic reports of the action taken report to the district level committee and university.
  • The principal or Head of the Institution shall obtain an undertaking from every employee of the institution including teaching and non teaching members of staff, contract labour employed in the premises either for running canteen or as watch and ward staff or for cleaning or maintenance of the buildings/lawns, etc that he/she would report prompltly any case of ragging which comes to his/her notice. A provision shall be made in the service rules for issuing certificates of appreciation to such member of the staff who report ragging which will form a part their service record.
  • The college canteens and hostel messes are also places where ragging often takes place. The employers/employees of the canteens/mess shall be given necessary instructions to keep strict vigil and to report the incidents of ragging to the college authorities if any.
  • Each batch of freshers should be divided into small groups and each such group shall be assigned to a member of the staff. Such staff member should interact individually with, each member of the group on a daily basis for ascertaining the problems if any faced by the fresher in the institution and extending necessary help.
  • In the case of freshers admitted of a hostel it shall be the responsibility of the teacher in charge of the group to coordinate with the warden of the hostel and to make surprise visits to the rooms in the hostel where the members of the group lodges.
  • Freshers shall be lodged in a separate hostel block, wherever possible and where such facilities are not available, the college/institution shall ensure that seniors access to freshers accommodation is strictly monitored by wardens, security guards and college staff.
  • If any incident of ragging comes to the notice of the authority concerned, the accused student will be given opportunity to explain and if his explanation is not satisfactory the authority would expel him from the institution.
  • Any other appropriate steps for prevention of Ragging.

Members of Anti Ragging Squad

Anti Ragging Squad Members
Sr.no Name Designation Department School Ext.no Contact No. Mail-ID
1 Dr. Kamlesh M. Patel Associate Professor CE School of Engineering 145 9099240604 kamlesh.patel@rku.ac.in
2 Prof. Nirav Mandaviya Assistant Professor MBA School of Management 806 9979198882 nirav.mandaviya@rku.ac.in
3 Prof. Radhika Senjaliya Assistant Professor EC School of Engineering 164 9898210256 radhika.senjaliya@rku.ac.in
4 Mr. Hiteshbhai Shah Rector Boys Hostel RK University 602 9825780340  
5 Mrs. Pritiben Shah Rector Girls Hostel RK University 602 9925750861